There are numerous non-discrimination laws at the federal level to protect the rights of people with disabilities

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA)

The country's most popular and comprehensive disability rights legislation, the ADA prohibits discrimination on the basis of disability in employment, public goods and services, state and local government, commercial facilities, public transportation, and telecommunications.

Learn about the ADA

Fair Housing Act

The Fair Housing Act prohibits unlawful discrimination in any aspect of selling, renting, or living in  housing. The law requires reasonable exceptions and modifications to allow for equal housing opportunities for people with disabilities.

Learn about the Fair Housing Act

Air Carrier Access Act (ACAA)

The ACAA prohibits discrimination on the basis of disability in air travel by airlines that offer flights in the U.S., and to and from the U.S. by foreign airlines. Refusal to allow travel and other discriminatory practices are prohibited.

Learn about the ACAA

Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA)

IDEA requires that a free and appropriate public education is available to children and youth with disabilities. Early intervention apply to children through age 2 and their families; special education applies to youth ages 3 through 21.

Learn about IDEA